WORKING IN AN UNGODLY ENVIRONMENT

Last Monday I started my internship with an electrical company. Though I was excited to begin this journey, it became clear to me that it wasn’t going to be easy. Many workers on site communicate with the “F” note; when they aren’t doing that, their topic is sexual. Everywhere you turn it’s the same tone and tune you will hear, along with equipment and loud machinery. There is never a moment when one can get away in her head and breathe a little. I found myself overwhelmed, angry, tired and even struggling to work in such an ungodly place. Sometimes I find myself going home unhappy. Retracing each day in my mind, I realize it’s difficult for a Christian to work around ungodly people.

Everyday the topic is about sex.

One of my classmates who is now my coworker cannot go five seconds without saying, asking, or even doing something sexual. Sometimes  I find myself shaking my head at his ignorance and even laughing about it. Unfortunately I’ve even made comments. My thought pattern is everywhere when this happens because I know this just isn’t my life any more. Sadly, every turn this kid makes has to be sexual. If only he wasn’t so lazy and would put some of that energy into the work, things would be smoother. I had to stop for a second and feel sorry for these people because they truly are ignorant. I would love to be able to work in a Godly environment but this the field I have chosen and I have to go where the work is.

Know it all!

I am one of three interns from my school that started this job last week. Another came from somewhere else and he is the worst to work with. He had some work experience but his attitude makes me hate being around him. He does not listen, desires to do all the work in order to be praised and already has an opinion about the rest of us. God forgive me, I was happy when he was reprimanded by the supervisor. I honestly don’t understand his motives and he isn’t someone I enjoy working with.

Everyday is a struggle!

Each day I go to work and am excited to be there… then these coworkers arrive and I hate it. I struggle most of the time, wanting to be nasty back to them; the rest of the time I find myself being entertained. I  realized I need to switch places often because it’s not good for me to stay in one location too long. As a Christian I know I’m supposed to change that place instead of allowing it to change me, but sometimes I struggle. I needed to be honest because it helps.

My prayer!

Lord help me! I struggle every day. I know I am to represent you always but I know I haven’t done a good enough job. Help me to do better and help me to change that place instead of allowing it to change me. In  JESUS’ name, Amen.

Author:

I am passionate and filled with life. I believe as long as there is life there is hope and life is a choice. I am no quitter and will never give up on my life. My favorites Scripture is Phil. 4:13 " I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength".

2 thoughts on “WORKING IN AN UNGODLY ENVIRONMENT

  1. You may not have to change the place…just don’t let it change you. GOD does the changing, you may just be the seed and someone else may come along and water, and someone else may see the fruit. Just listen and do your part. All the glory goes to GOD anyway 🙂 Stay strong on who GOD made you to be!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

